We Fight For Your Rights!   Call For Free Consultation      (813) 873-0180

Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist Coverage in Florida

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Florida?

In Florida, you have to carry property damage and personal injury protection which is known as PIP and PD. This covers up to $10,000 of medical expenses at 80% and the other vehicle property damage too. If you are in an accident and it is your fault, the PIP covers you for medical expenses and lost wages unless you exclude wage loss on your policy. Generally, both of those limits are $10,000 as a minimum and the PIP pays eighty percent of your medical bills and lost wages up to $10,000 and you are responsible for the remaining twenty percent balance. You could also have a deductible on the PIP policy.

Is It Common For A Lot Of Drivers In Florida To Be Uninsured Or Underinsured?

Unfortunately, yes. It is a very common occurrence. There are many people driving without insurance and some even drive without a license in Florida. That is why it is so important to carry uninsured and underinsured insurance to protect yourself against drivers that have no insurance and cause these accidents.

Are People Aware That Underinsured Or Insured Insurance Is Something That Can Protect Them?

No. Actually, a lot of people that come in to meet an attorney, when asked what coverage they have, they respond that they have full coverage which is referred to as ‘fool’s coverage.’ Because the insurance agent will say, “This is full coverage.” That means it is what you have to have by Florida law. You do not have to have UM or UIM so they do not even talk to the potential insurers about that coverage and they do not know it exists.

What Misconceptions Do People Have When It Comes To An Auto Accident With Someone Who Is Uninsured Or Underinsured?

They often think there is no recourse because people do not even know what UM insurance is. They may have it and not even know it. So, the first course of action should be to look at your own policy for the uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. Again, if you do not have that, you should at least report it to the DMV so you can attempt to recoup some of your out of pocket expenses from the at fault uninsured driver.

Get information about Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist Coverage In Florida or call the Franco Law Group P.A.

Get your questions answered – call us for your free consultation

Call For Free Consultation

(813) 873-0180

You have Successfully Subscribed!